Faculty of Science


The Faculty of Science is headed by the Executive Dean (Science) and comprises the School of Biological Sciences, the departments of Chemistry, Communication Disorders, Geography, Geological Sciences, Physics and Astronomy, Psychology, and the Gateway Antarctica research centre.    

The Faculty has a very broad research base including spectroscopy applied to trace analysis (SIFT), NZ’s unique ecology, the human geography of exposure to environmental chemicals, protein biochemistry, molecular biology, volcanology, the neurochemistry of psychological processes, bioactive compounds from marine fauna, Antarctica, and food chemistry and toxicology.  
The facilities for science at UC are world-class. The field stations - from Kaikoura in the north to Antarctica in the south - are unique in New Zealand. Other resources include cutting-edge laboratories, access to 24-hour computer labs, the Central Library and a specialist Physical Sciences Library. The Faculty operates the country's leading observatory at Mount John and is home to the Nanostructure Engineering Science and Technology group (NEST), a key partner in the MacDiarmid Institute, one of nine New Zealand Centres of Research Excellence. The Faculty prides itself in underpinning its teaching with research excellence. It is commonplace for our students to be taught by leaders in their fields either from the Faculty or as part of significant academic exchange programmes that we run with the USA and UK. The Faculty is proud to have some of the southern hemispheres foremost research scientists amongst staff.


Research Groups


Subject Area: Disciplines